The Lord’s Prayer – Give us what we need each day… Part One

Many years ago, we wanted to teach Elijah and Brady The Lord’s Prayer. We also wanted it to make some sense to them, so Jon made a kid-friendly version. We would say it together each night at bedtime and it went something like this:

Our Father in Heaven, Your name is great!
We want You to have Your way
On Earth just like in Heaven.
Please give us what we need each day;
Forgive all our bad things as we forgive each other.
Help us to do good; save us from evil.
For the world is Yours, and the power and the glory,
Forever and ever. Amen. So be it.

It was a nice way to finish off a day with the boys, praying the words that Jesus prayed.

A few months ago Jon began a series during our Sunday morning services at The Mission on The Lord’s Prayer. This time, he decided that instead of using his kid-friendly version (which he says he would change now anyway), he’d go back to the original (non-KJV) version. It was a 6 week series and each week the kids would review the part of the prayer that they had learned up to that point and then Jon would give a brief ‘lesson’ on that day’s section. It was a wonderful opportunity to study Scripture intergenerationally. (But that’s a bit off topic.)

So, anyway, the last few days I’ve been thinking a lot about this special prayer and what I can learn from it afresh. The line that has been jumping out at me again and again is:

‘Give us this day our daily bread’ or in our kid-friendly version, ‘Give us what we need each day’.

I am reminded, once again, that what Jesus taught us to pray was not that God would provide what we need in the future, but what we need today.

What do we need today? Sometimes I think that what I need today is some assurance that God will provide for us tomorrow. But in truth, he’s already given me that, I am just good at forgetting it. If I am thinking clearly, I can look back on my life and see so many times when God provided (sometimes quite miraculously, I would say) for us. More times than that, I admit, I can look back and see times when I have worried and stressed and cried out to God, desperate for him to provide for tomorrow, unable to rest in the knowledge that God had provided in the past and would continue to take care of us each day.

At the moment, I find myself in that same place, restless and worried about our future finances. Do I think that things are going to change and that God is suddenly going to stop providing for us? No. But I worry that we are not being good stewards of what God has given us; I wonder if we are spending frivolously on extras we don’t need. And that doesn’t sit well with me.

Oh that I would truly live simply and with a thankful heart, fully aware of Who has given me everything I have, which is more than I need or deserve or ever imagined He would bless me with.

5 responses

  1. Well said, Angie. I love to “hear” your heart on here since it’s so hard to discuss real things with wee ones running aboot, eh? πŸ˜‰ Anyway, thanks for sharing- it’s nice to read real blogs with real thoughts and not just the spruced up, perfect pictures of seemingly perfect kids. Real blogs are my fave. πŸ˜‰

    22/01/2011 at 16:23

  2. Mom

    You are inspirational! I love reading your thoughts! Love you!
    Mom

    23/01/2011 at 20:15

  3. Dad

    Amen!

    Nice to see you blogging again. I have missed it.

    23/01/2011 at 20:46

  4. Miles Larrick

    Five years ago, my went, Gail, went on the Heart Transplant List at The Ross Medical Center in Columbus, Ohio. The Lord told me to have Faith in Him. Do not take my eyes off of Him.
    I kept that Faith and on July 28, 2012, He, with the precious heart in hand, He gave His gift of life (whom Gail named Faith) into her chest. Faith and the lungs did not get along. She began to fail. That night the Doctors put in a Ecmo; heart and lung machine, This gives her heart/lungs a chance to rest. They have since taken her off the Ecmo, Faith and her lungs are marrying each other, but my wife’s kidneys (from the drugs) are acting up. Doctors are tending to that now.
    I ache for her, to hold her, to talk, and smile with. I hurt. But why I write, today I needed to find your site. Jesus knew I needed to read what you have written. He sent me on a search for what I needed. Here in the hospital waiting area, I used the Web that He provided knowledge for us to discover. (Sorry, Al Gore did not invent it). He directed me here and I did so enjoy reading your story. It uplifted me! I just wanted to thank you for being here when I needed you.
    Jesus has told me that she will be fine. As He said five years ago when I asked Him for a new heart for my wife, He said “Come to Him” and have no doubt. I tend to keep the Faith, both of them.
    Blessings,
    Miles Larrick, Dublin Ohio

    08/08/2012 at 16:51

Leave a Reply

